About Us
Catalogues & DatabasesCollectionsServicesPrograms & EventsAbout UsOnline Shop
Latest News

Latest News

2004 Commonwealth Writers Prize Awarded

15 May 2004

British author Caryl Phillips has won the Best Book prize for his book A Distant Shore. New York-based Phillips received his award from Premier Steve Bracks at the presentation dinner held at the State Library. The other regional winning authors in the Best Book category were Melbourne author Michelle de Kretser, Canada's Frances Itani and Damon Galgut from South Africa.

The Best First Book was awarded to Mark Haddon for his work The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Other regional winners in the Best First Book category were Lebanese-based Australian Nada Awar Jarrar, Kate Taylor from Canada and South African Diane Awerbuck.

need answers? ask us!